11/2/2016 waiting for it all to be OVER

the guns run the streets now
like they always did
the devil wears True Religion
the exits smell like preconceived notions
He said, “Fuck voting, they don’t count us”
though I tried to convince him differently
he sees through my uncertainty.
Hopes for Change are illusions
to keep the martinets dancing
want to cut my strings
run for the horizon
but they have church on Wednesday
trying to find a heaven I can’t see
while suffering the burns,
cuffs, and shame of delusions
if you catch me crying
at the polling place
ignore my emotions
wait your turn and cast your ballot
we will worry about the math
after the dance
but if you aren’t in the building
during the raffle you can’t get the prize.

Leave a Reply

